Negro Big Leagues

2016 visit to Negro Leagues Baseball Museum (NLBM), in Kansas City, Missouri. A group of local historians, business leaders, and former baseball players came together to create the NLBM in the early 1990s. It’s located in the Historic 18th & Vine Jazz District of Kansas City, MO., the center for black culture and life in Kansas City from the late 1800s-1960s. A top baseball destination; next to the National Baseball Hall of Fame Museum in Cooperstown, New York.

MLB announced, December of last year, that it would recognize the Negro Leagues as a major league. Since then, the nervous energy of questions and reactions grows.  For those who have studied or procured the delicate history of the Negro Leagues; could they ever have imagined this outcome? Through their blood sweat and tears of research, we know that the Negro Leagues were comprised of seven leagues listed below.

  • Negro National League (1920-1931)
  • Eastern Colored League (1923-1928)
  • American Negro League (1929)
  • East-West League (1932)
  • Negro Southern League (1932)
  • Negro National League (1933-1948)
  • Negro American League (1937-1960)

The Challenge to merge these sparse records with over 140 years of the leagues that have formed Major League Baseball. We’ll hear debates that will change the way we think of the timeline; rewriting the record books for decades to come.

2020 was the 100th Anniversary of the founding of the Negro Leagues in 1920. Bob Kendrick, president of the Negro League Baseball Museum here in Kansas City, recently announced that they will continue to celebrate the leagues. The “Negro Leagues 101” Campaign will include opportunities to engage, to educate, to make discoveries, and to find new ways to celebrate the history.